UNESCO sites in Croatia

Croatia is home to eight different UNESCO World Heritage Sites, ranging from rolling plains and gothic graveyards to ancient city architecture. If you’re planning a holiday to Croatia, we’d highly recommend taking the time to scout out a few of these awe-inspiring destinations.

The historical complex at Split

The second biggest city in Croatia, Split is known for its ambling beaches and beautiful buildings.

At the very heart of the city lies The Palace of Diocletian, an impressive structure erected by the Roman emperor Diocletian in the 4th century. Previously home to thousands of local people, today you can visit more than 200 ancient buildings among its sprawling remains.

Plitvice Lakes National Park

The largest of eight national parks in Croatia, Plitvice Lakes also earned its UNESCO status by being one of the oldest national parks in Southeast Europe. Nestled between the Mala Kapela and Pljesevika mountains, 16 lakes are naturally arranged into stunning cascades. These pools of jade and azure water are connected by flowing waterfalls and surrounded by forests containing bears, wolves, and multiple species of rare birds.

The Euphrasian Basilica in Porec

The Euphrasian Basilica in Porec boasts striking mosaics dating all the way back to the 6th century. Widely regarded as one of the world’s best examples of early Byzantine art and architecture, its appearance has been altered by accidents, fires and earthquakes, leaving the remnants of previous buildings. When you visit, keep an eye out for the 4th-century mosaic hiding in the floor of the church garden.

Stari Grad Plain

Share this page